Skip to content

Marquette Symphony Orchestra to debut “A Child’s Requiem”

by on November 21, 2013

Thomas LaVoy, born in 1990 in Marquette, Michigan, is a talented pianist and composer who has been crafting a symphony based on the 1913 Italian Hall disaster that took place in Calumet. The composition, “A Child’s Requiem,” was commissioned by the Marquette Symphony Orchestra and it will have its world premier at 7:30 pm on December 14, 2013 at the Louis G. Kaufman Auditorium in Marquette. The debut of “A Child’s Requiem” was timed to come out just before the centennial anniversary of the Italian Hall tragedy, which took place on Christmas Eve 1913. Tickets available at the NMU EZ-Ticket outlets located in the Superior Dome or Forest Roberts Theatre box office. Phone Orders can be directed to 906-227-1032 and online orders are possible through Tickets may also be available at the door prior to the show if seating is still available.  A sample of music from the composition can be heard below.

“Thomas LaVoy graduated summa cum laude from Westminster Choir College in Princeton, New Jersey where he studied composition with Joel Phillips and Benjamin C.S. Boyle and piano with James Goldsworthy. In addition to maintaining his presence in the world of concert music, Thomas is also an active singer-songwriter in the folk genre and performs regularly on the East Coast and in the Midwest.” (From LaVoy’s Facebook page)

From → Concerts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: